The Riches of the world!

Posted: November 30, 2009 in Life Tips

You may have heard that Dubai is in some financial trouble. They cannot pay their debts. ( I think its pretty funny)
Interestingly many think that the riches come from oil, but in fact Dubai does not really have the oil riches or other natural resources. Someone probably said one day, ooh lets start a business, what will we do? Hmmmm Why not build a city!? And they did! Glamorous hotels and fancy buildings! They figured if  we make some sort of supply the demand will come. Dubai was not really built were there was a big demand and then supply followed. It seems to have worked for a while, but now there is some trouble. (by the way this is my short version, I’m no economist)
I want to bring this back to what the bible says. James1: 10-11
10And the rich [person ought to glory] in being humbled [by being shown his human frailty], because like the flower of the grass he will pass away. 11For the sun comes up with a scorching heat and parches the grass; its flower falls off and its beauty fades away. Even so will the rich man wither and die in the midst of his pursuits.(A)

This pursuit of riches will just kill you it seems! I have seen it in my life. When iIfocussed on the all the STUFF I don’t have and want, I was miserable! When we chase after riches we become tired for nothing. I realized that I must rather enjoy just what I have! And like you see here in the scripture, chasing after these riches will cause you to Pass away, Wither and DIE! Pretty hectic hey!
Heres another Verser, James 5:1
1COME NOW, you rich [people], weep aloud and lament over the miseries (the woes) that are surely coming upon you.

Scary hey, Miseries that are SURELY coming.
So who knows, someone may bail out Dubai, as plenty of other rich people have been, but in the end the Misery is surely coming. Lets just enjoy what God has given. Lets take his yoke on us, because its light and easy. Maybe if you feel down and miserable, just sit back and have a look. Whats causing it? Maybe there is some kind of riches your chasing? I know I was. Its much better to let it go!

In the mean time, I’ll just pray that the Peace and Blessings of God be with you!

Leave a Reply

