Are you hungry?

Posted: January 8, 2010 in General

A friend from church sends us a bible verse each day via e-mail. It is so amazing how a single verse can be so spot on and really just trigger something.
Todays Verse was Amos 5:4 (Amplified)
For thus says the Lord to the house of Israel: Seek Me [inquire for and of Me and require Me as you require food] and you shall live!(A)

As I got it this e-mail I was actually pretty hungry, so was thinking what will I get to eat, I need food, got to get it now!! This verse then comes along, and tells me, to look for God as if I’m physically hungry. Require him as you require food. We all know that if you don’t eat for long enough, you will eventually die! So if we starve ourselves of God, of time with him, we also die! Maybe not physically, but without God we are not really alive are we? Ephesians 2:5 tells us that we were dead, but we are made alive in fellowship with Christ.
Acts 17:28 In Him we live and move and have our being.

There are loads of scriptures about seeking God as absolute necessity, like food, like water. And loads more that tell us we are only truly alive in Him. And if you don’t want to believe the bible, then believe me when I say that from first hand experience, I am only alive in Christ Jesus. If I don’t focus on who I am in Christ, I really become dead, I start seeing the trouble, and the things I don’t have and become almost depressed about my life. And I am really talking about myself here. Maybe some of my friends could confirm this.

So, coming to a conclusion, I am hungry! Hungry for God. This is something I started doing some time ago, that whenever I feel physically hungry, I think of one of these scriptures, that my true, real, eternal hunger is for God! I have not been doing it enough anymore lately, but join me in this challenge. When you feel hungry, remember one of these verses that refer to our hunger and necessity for God. just pray for a few minutes while you are physically hungry, and tell God how much you need Him.

Have an awesome weekend! I pray God protect you and keep you and bless you this weekend! Amen.

Leave a Reply

