Hot and cold, Fire and Ice.

Posted: January 28, 2010 in General, Todays Bible Reading

The other day I was complaining a about my car again. The air conditioning does not work properly again, after I had it fix a little over a year ago. When I sit in traffic the temperature starts rising, and this after I spent big money on getting cooling system and head gasket fixed. There are a few other things too.

Then my mom told me something that nearly had me in tears. My parents do a lot of charity work distributing food to many poor people. There are a couple men who come by their house every now and again if they are unable to find work, and they help them with food if they can. There is this one man who comes by my parents house and they help him out with food whenever they can. The other day he came by asking if he cannot just do some work for R10 so he can go by some paraffin too cook his food, because with all the rain we had the past few weeks all the wood is too wet, and he can not make a fire!

……………………..Close to tears yet?
And there I am complaining about air conditioning in my car, while someone else cannot even cook some food!
See the irony……I want cold he needs heat, mine is luxury his is necessity.

Enough is never enough, and a couple scriptures come to mind!
1 Timothy 6:7-9 if we have food and clothing, with these we shall be content (satisfied).
Proverbs 28:27He who gives to the poor will not want, but he who hides his eyes [from their want] will have many a curse.

Ever notice that God has a soft spot for the poor!?? I refer back to another post of mine about worship. It involves the poor. Click here if you want to read it. Go to Biblegateway.com, Type in Poor and click search! That should keep you busy for a long time!

Lets be thankful and satisfied with what we have, and let me also challenge you as I am now challenging myself to really reach out to the poor.

Comments
  1. Coenraad says:

    Fritz

    God just has a way of showing us how to stay humble. Precisely when we need to hear it.

Leave a Reply

