Going with the wind! – Its exciting!

Posted: February 17, 2010 in Todays Bible Reading

John 3:88The wind blows (breathes) where it wills; and though you hear its sound, yet you neither know where it comes from nor where it is going. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit.  

This is very exciting isn’t it?
It is hard for us to sometimes get out of our normal routines! We get into a rhythm and kind of want to stick with it. Why do we want to do that? Here are some of my reasons.
– Don’t want to let people down (friends & family) , by having to change something.
– Its good to know where I belong, know where I stand between friends. I know my place.
– Its comforting to know whats waiting for me. (Uncertainty is never really fun)

I had to make a decision recently, in fact just this week, and decided to go with it………….. but I don’t know where though. I know the wind is taking me, and I’m moving with it, just not sure where I will end up. A good friend of mine Coenraad also made a big decision just this week, read about it on his blog http://www.unsafechallenge.com/.

Well, as this verse says, those borne of the spirit is like the wind. You can hear it, you can feel it, and no human can control the wind. Moving with God’s Spirit is like that. You know you are going somewhere, you know you are moving, but don’t know exactly where you will end up! But is that not very exciting. Its an adventure! Its a journey!
Its like waiting for a birthday present! My girlfriend has been teasing be about my birthday present the whole of  last week. Giving me hints that really don’t help me figure it out at all. It just makes me more curious! (It’s my birthday Sunday 21st Feb – just FYI!)   I know its coming, this Sunday, I’m all excited! But I don’t know what it will be.
Maybe sometimes God does that. He moves us, He gives us hints, but we don’t know the end. We have to wait for that right moment!

Like waiting for my present this week I’m also waiting on God for that moment when he reveals what he has for me. I’m willing to go with the wind! Are you?

Leave a Reply

